Posted by: itellhalif | June 16, 2014

A Life Changing Experience

After only two weeks in Israel I feel like my entire life has changed. I’ve always been interested in archaeology, but actually getting to experience digging in the field with a real team revolutionized the way I perceive education and my future career path. Actually excavating and coming up with artifacts that haven’t been touched in thousands if years is truly awe inspiring, but I feel the real value of the trip comes with the people you meet who are also interested in this field of study. On this trip you work with more than just the emory community and get a real taste of how exhilarating archaeology in the near east can be. From meeting grad students who return here year after year and working under the supervision of Dr. Borowski I’ve been exposed to a vast array of new knowledge and wisdom I never would have dreamed of. The connections Ive made on this trip and the experiences brought forth from participating in weekend field trips are priceless. I’ve seen where the Dead Sea Scrolls were discovered, walked through one of King Herod’s palaces, seen the sun rise over Masada, floated in the Dead Sea, visited numerous ancient cities, explored Jerusalem and I’m not even half way through. I cannot express more how valuable this trip has been for me. I was on the fence about going to grad school before I came, but now all I want to do is pursue my Ph.D and come back to Israel as much as possible. This program is incredible and so surreal. Words can’t adequately express how happy I am to have participated in this summer abroad course.

-Aziz Brown

Sunrise over the Dead Sea from Masada

Sunrise over the Dead Sea from Masada

Leave a Reply

Categories

